Virginia Tech®home

Wrap Up

Here are some resources from the 2022 CCI Symposium, which brought together more than 200 CCI-funded researchers and students from across Virginia. 

Watch the video

Loading player for https://youtu.be/mWI8xU1SxC8...

Download the State of CCI Address, presented by Luiz DaSilva.


Contact Researchers from the Speed Briefings

Title: Enhancing Security and Low Latency Services in 5G/Next-G

Author: Prof. Tom Hou, Bradley Distinguished Professor of ECE, Virginia Tech

Email: hou@vt.edu


Title: Secure 5G/NextG ​Wireless Communications

Author: Kai Zeng​, Associate Professor, George Mason University​

Research area: Wireless Security, CPS/IoT Security, Spectrum Sharing, Machine Learning

​Email: kzeng2@gmu.edu


Title: Multifunctional Coatings for Broadband Electromagnetic Interference Shielding

Author: Radhika Barua, Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research area: Magnetic Materials & Devices

Email: rbarua@vcu.edu


Title: How Secure is 5G? Security and Privacy Challenges with OpenRAN

Author: Yixin Sun, Assistant Professor, University of Virginia

Research Area: Network Security and Privacy

Email: yixins@virginia.edu


Title: Federated Learning over Wireless Networks: Private ML over NextG networks

Author: Cong Shen, Assistant Professor, University of Virginia

Research Area: Machine Learning, Wireless Communications & Networking

Email: cong@virginia.edu


Title: Securing Non-Terrestrial Networks in NextG

Author: Dr. Jeffrey H. Reed, Professor, Virginia Tech & Dr. Nishith D. Tripathi, Research Associate Professor, Virginia Tech

Research area: NextG Wireless Communications and Applications of AI

Email: reedjh@vt.edu & nishith@vt.edu


Title: Securing NextG: Secure and Resilient mmWaves

Author: Jacek Kibilda, Research Assistant Professor, CCI @ Virginia Tech

Research area: 5G & NextG Wireless

Email: jkibilda@vt.edu


Title: Implicit Trust in Pre-Authentication: The Achilles Heel of 5G Security

Author: Joao F. Santos, PhD, Postdoctoral Researcher, Commonwealth Cyber Initiative, Virginia Tech

Research area: Software-defined Communications

Email: joaosantos@vt.edu


Title: Blockchain empowered Assured Network Slicing

Author: Sachin Shetty, Associate Professor, Dept. of Computational Modeling and Simulation Engineering, Old Dominion University & Executive Director, Center for Secure & Intelligent Critical Systems, Virginia Modeling, Analysis and Simulation Center

Research area: Trustworthy Artificial Intelligence, Secure and Intelligent NextG Infrastructure, Critical Infrastructure Resilience Metrics

Email: sshetty@odu.edu


Title: Secure Content or Channel? Secure FIA for NextG

Author: Safdar H. Bouk, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Old Dominion University

Research area: NDN, 5G, and Vehicular Networks

Email: sbouk@odu.edu


Title: Radio Access Network Slicing Security for nextG Networks              

Author: Tugba Erpek, Research Associate Professor, NSI, Virginia Tech

Research area: 5G & NextG - Secure management and orchestration of NextG networks

Email: terpek@vt.edu


Title: Open AI Cellular (OAIC): Prototyping AI-enabled Control and Testing Systems for Next-G Cellular Communications

Author: Vijay K. Shah, Assistant Professor, GMU

Research area: Experimental 5G/NextG, Spectrum Sharing, and AI to Wireless

Email: vshah22@gmu.edu

Title: AI Assurance: Enabling AI Adoption

Author: Laura J. Freeman, Deputy Director, Virginia Tech National Security Institute

Research area: Artificial Intelligence Assurance

Email: laura.freeman@vt.edu


Title: Deployable Solutions for Enterprise Defense in Depth: From Ransomware to Insider Threat Detection

Author: Danfeng (Daphne) Yao, Professor of Computer Science, Virginia Tech

Research area: AI Assurance

Email: danfeng@vt.edu


Title: Machine Learning model verification in cyber physical systems

Author: Sachin Shetty, Associate Professor, Dept. of Computational Modeling and Simulation Engineering, Old Dominion University & Executive Director, Center for Secure & Intelligent Critical Systems, Virginia Modeling, Analysis and Simulation Center

Research area: Trustworthy Artificial Intelligence, Secure and Intelligent NextG Infrastructure, Critical Infrastructure Resilience Metrics

Email: sshetty@odu.edu


Title: Enabling AI adoption through Assurance

Jaganmohan Chandrasekaran, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Research Associate, Commonwealth Cyber Initiative, Virginia Tech

Research area: AI Assurance

Email: jagan@vt.edu


Title: Deep Metric Learning for Code Authorship Attribution

Author: Nathan R. Sprague, Associate Professor of Computer Science, James Madison University

Research area: Machine Learning and Robotics

Email: spragunr@jmu.edu


Title: AI Assurance on Edge Devices

Author:  Atulasimha, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research area: Nanomagnetic/spintronic devices; Machine learning on edge devices

Email: jatulasimha@vcu.edu

Title: Cyber Security of Transportation Networks: Building a Research Prototype – JACart

Author: Dr. Samy El-Tawab, Associate Professor, James Madison University

Research area: Computer Networking and Cyber Security

Email: eltawass@jmu.edu


Title: Smart Cities Need Smart Grids

Author: Chen-Ching Liu, American Electric Power Professor, Director, Power and Energy Center, Virginia Tech

Research area: Electric Power and Energy Systems

Email: ccliu@vt.edu


Title: How can I(oT) trust a SPaTE of your objects? Architecting inter-organizational object-security

Author: Eric Osterweil, Assistant Professor, Computer Science Dept., George Mason University

Research area: Cybersecurity in Internet Infrastructures

Email: eoster@gmu.edu


Title: Robust biomimetic networked systems: Nature-inspired secure decision-making in cyber-physical systems

Author: Marcos M. Vasconcelos, Research Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech

Research area: Multi-agent systems, Control and Optimization, Game Theory

Email: marcosv@vt.edu


Title: Towards Trustworthiness in Autonomous Vehicles

Authors: Evgenia Smirni, William and Mary & Homa Alemzadeh, University of Virginia

Email: esmirni@cs.wm.edu


Title: Securing IoT devices via Power Auditing in Smart City

Author: Gang Zhou, Professor of Computer Science, William & Mary

Research area: Sensor Systems, Internet of Things, Security, Ubiquitous Computing

Email: gzhou@cs.wm.edu


Title: Smart City Infrastructures for Safeguarding Autonomous Vehicles Against Cyber Attacks

Author: Pouria Razzaghi, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Associate, George Washington University

Research area: Robotics, Automation, and Artificial Intelligence

Email: prazzaghi@gwu.edu


Title: An Open Architecture Testbed for Smart Cities (OpenCyberCity)

Author: Sherif Abdelwahed, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research Area: Autonomous Systems, Cyber Physical Systems

Email: sabdelwahed@vcu.edu


Title: Assessing the Safety of an Advanced Driver Assistance System

Author: Xugui Zhou, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Virginia

Research area: Safety and Dependability of Cyber-Physical Systems

Email: xugui@virginia.edu


Title: Wireless Sensing at the Edge: Adversarial attacks and defenses

Author: Eyuphan Bulut, Associate Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research area: Wireless Networks and Mobile Computing/Sensing/Communication

Email: ebulut@vcu.edu


Title: Experimental Testbed for Teaching Cyber Security of Cyber-Physical Systems to ECE and CS undergraduates

Author: Robert H. Klenke, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research area: Cyber-Physical Systems, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles

Email: rhklenke@vcu.edu


Title: Secure Automated Video Assistance in Vehicular Networks using Unmanned Aerial Vehicles

Authors: Ahmad Salman, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, James Madison University

Research areas: Cryptography and Hardware Security

Email: salmanaa@jmu.edu


Title: Cybersecure Human-Robot Teams

Author: Patrick J. Martin, PhD, Assistant Professor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research area: Autonomous Robotic Systems

Email: martinp@vcu.edu


Title: Machine Learning at the edge: Autonomous systems

Author: Jayasimha Atulasimha, Professor, Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University

Research area: Nanomagnetic/spintronic devices; Machine learning on edge devices

Email: jatulasimha@vcu.edu

Title: CyMMCAA CYBERSECURITY MATURITY MODEL CERTIFICATION ASSISTED ASSESSMENT: Using End-to-End Automation for Cybersecurity from DoD to DIB Contractors

Author: Hallie A. Zimmerman, MSBA, William & Mary

Research area: Cybersecurity

Email: hazimmerman@wm.edu


Title: AI-Security Living Lab Experience (AISLE): Multidisciplinary Experiential Learning Activities

Author: Dr. Samy El-Tawab, Associate Professor, James Madison University

Research area: Computer Networking and Cyber Security

Email: eltawass@jmu.edu


Title: An AI-Powered Scientific Misinformation Labeler

Author: Jian Wu, Computer Science Department, Old Dominion University

Research area: Natural Language Processing and Understanding, Information Retrieval, Scholarly Big Data

Email: jwu@cs.odu.edu


Title: Cybercrime in Virginia: Statewide Surveys of Residents and Businesses

Author: Jay Albanese, Virginia Commonwealth University & Randy Gainey, Old Dominion University

Email: rgainey@odu.edu & jsalbane@vcu.edu


Title: Curating industry partnerships through experiential learning for workforce development in cyber biosecurity

Author: Tiffany A. Drape, Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech

Research area: Mis/Dis Information, Privacy, Experiential Learning, Law/Ethics, Arts & Design

Email: tdrape@vt.edu


Title: Propaganda Detection Tool to Counter Disinformation Narratives for Public Services

Author: Dr. Hemant Purohit, Associate Professor, George Mason University

Research area: Social Computing, Semantic Analysis, Human-AI Collaboration Application domains: Disaster Management, Social Cybersecurity

Email: hpurohit@gmu.edu


Title: (Failure of) De-anonymization: Privacy Implications

Author: Daniel Shin, Esq., Cybersecurity Researcher & CoVA CCI Research Scientist, William & Mary

Research area: Intersection of emerging technology and legal issues

Email: dshin01@wm.edu


Title: Biometric Multi-factor Authentication: On the Usability of the FingerPIN Scheme

Authors: Sumanth Sriram & Venkata Patibandla, Graduate Research Assistant, George Mason University

Research area: Multi-Factor Authentication

Email: ssriram2@gmu.edu & vpatiban@gmu.edu


Title: Expanding Cybersecurity Pathways: Experiential Learning & Professional Development

Author: Vukica Jovanovic, Ph.D., Interim Chair, Batten Endowed Professor, Old Dominion University

Research area: Digital Manufacturing

Email: v2jovano@odu.edu


Title: User Security Fatigue and Password Enhancement through Deep Learning

Authors: Gerald Matthews, Human Factors and Applied Cognition, Department of Psychology, George Mason University; Giuseppe Ateniese, Computer Science, School of Computing, George Mason University; Daniel Barbará, Computer Science, College of Engineering and Computing, George Mason University

Email: gmatthe@gmu.edu


Title: IS-related actions at work: Security policy evaluation and work values

Author: Miguel A. Toro-Jarrin, Graduate-Research Assistant, Old Dominion University

Research area: Cybersecurity behaviors at work

Email: mtoro001@odu.edu


Title: Disinformation and Anti-American Sentiment in Turkey

Author: Russell A. Korb, Graduate Research Assistant, Old Dominion University

Research area: Disinformation & Cyber-Influence Operations

Email: rkorb001@odu.edu


Title: Information Literacy for Cybersecurity

D.E. Wittkower, Chair and Professor, Philosophy & Religious Studies, Old Dominion University & Lucinda Wittkower, Head, Teaching and Learning Initiatives, University Libraries, Old Dominion University

Email: dwittkow@odu.edu & lrush@odu.edu


Title: Question under Discussion Framework to Analyze Misinformation

Author: Sachin Shetty, Associate Professor, Dept. of Computational Modeling and Simulation Engineering, Old Dominion University & Executive Director, Center

Research area: Trustworthy Artificial Intelligence, Secure and Intelligent NextG Infrastructure, Critical Infrastructure Resilience Metrics

Email: sshetty@odu.edu


Title: The Community College Cyber Foundations Project: Curriculum, Access, Resources, Environment

Author: Robert Tureman, Jr., Professor of Information Systems, Camp Community College

Research area: Foundations of Cybersecurity Education

Email: rtureman@pdc.edu


Read the Recap Story